Department Order No. 2002-11-018

Inclusion Of Philippine National Oil Company – Energy Development Corporation (PNOC-EDC) As Member Of The Technical Working Group For Wholesale Electricity Spot Market.


WHEREAS, Section 30 of Republic Act No. 9136, otherwise known as the “Electric Powers Industry Reform Act of 2001” and its Implementing Rules and Regulation authorized the Department Of Energy (DOE) to establish the Wholesale Electricity Spot Market (WESM) and jointly with the electric power industry participants, formulate the detailed rules for the WESM within one (1) year from the effectivity of the Act;

WHEREAS, the WESM Rules (“Rules”) was promulgated by the DOE on 28 June 2002 with the joint endorsement by the electric power industry participants and became effective on 21 July 2002; WHEREAS, Chapter 10 of the Rules provide that the DOE shall create and chair the Technical Working Group (“TWG”) to be composed of the Government and Industry participants immediately after the promulgation of the Rules;

WHEREAS, Department Order No. 2002-07-010 was issued on 22 July 2002 identifying the members to the WESM –TWG as follows: Philippine Independent Power Producers Association (PIPPA) Private Electric Plants Owners Association (PEPOA) Philippine Rural Electric Cooperative Association (PHILRECA) Manila Electric Company (MERALCO) National Power Corporation (NPC) National Transmission Company (TRANSCO) Power Sector Assets and Liabilities Management Corp. (PSALM) Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA) and National Electrification Administration (NEA)

WHEREAS, PNOC-EDC in their letter to the Secretary of DOE dated October 11, 2002, requested membership to the WESM-TWG as Government representative of the indigenous energy resource sector. NOW, THEREFORE, in view of the foregoing, PNOC-EDC is hereby included as an additional member of the WESM-TWG, duly created under Department Order No. 2002-07-010. This Department Order shall take effect immediately. Fort Bonifacio, Taguig Metro Manila, 18th November 2002. (Sgd) Vincent S. Perez Secretary

View Complete File : N/A